Euroregion Karpacki - Flaga PL Euroregion Karpacki - Carpathian Euroregion | Parki narodowe flora fauna i kraje Euroregionu - Pozycjonowanie
Marketing Internetowy


Parki Narodowe
Parki narodowe


Dodaj do ulubionych


Slovakia Landlocked country in central Europe, bounded N by Poland, E by the Ukraine , S by Hungary, W by Austria, and NW by the Czech Republic.

• government
The 1992 constitution provides for a single-chamber, 150-member national assembly, the National Council of the Slovak Republic, elected by universal suffrage for a four-year term. The president, who is head of state, is elected by the National Council for a maximum of two consecutive five-year terms and appoints the prime minister, who in turn appoints a cabinet or council of ministers. The president may be removed from office if the assembly passes a no-confidence resolution with a 60% majority. The country is divided for administrative purposes into four regions, which are subdivided into municipalities.

• history
Slovakia was under Hapsburg rule 906-18, when it gained independence and chose to unite with the Czech lands as the sovereign state of Czechoslovakia. Prior to World War II there was a growth in Slovak nationalism, partly in reaction to the Nazi threat, but this was less marked after the communists took power 1948. In Nov 1989 there were prodemocracy demonstrations in Prague and the Slovak capital, Bratislava. The Communist Party was disbanded, a new `coalition government´ formed with Václav Havel as president, and political parties legalized, including the Slovak-based People against Violence (PAV). This smooth and largely peaceful transition to democracy was later termed the `velvet revolution´.